When you apply for Social Security disability benefits, most applicants will be facing a lengthy wait while their application goes through an approval process. This process will involve someone determining if their physical or mental condition will prevent them from working in their occupation for a year or more and is a legitimate disability claim. However, some applicants may qualify for something called compassionate allowances, which can significantly speed up the time it takes to approve their application. Our ERISA lawyers in Tuscaloosa can help you determine if your condition qualifies for Compassionate Allowances.

What is a Compassionate Allowance?

The Social Security Administration (SSA) says that Compassionate Allowances “are a way of quickly identifying diseases and other medical conditions that invariably qualify under the Listing of Impairments based on minimal objective medical information.” These are severe conditions that essentially automatically grant the applicant disability benefits. The SSA will quickly get the medical information that they need to verify the condition and then start benefits.

What Qualifies for Compassionate Allowances?

The SSA determined which conditions would qualify for Compassionate Allowances during public outreach hearings, and with the help of the public, determined conditions such as these would qualify:

  • Schizophrenia
  • Autoimmune diseases
  • Multiple organ transplants
  • Stroke
  • Cancers
  • Traumatic Brain Injuries
  • and more

If you’ve been denied disability benefits for a qualifying Compassionate Allowances condition, contact our ERISA layer in Tuscaloosa immediately. We can help you fight for your benefits. Call us for a free consultation today and get the benefits you are entitled to receive.